Tulane's Klara Vyskocilova Selected to 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships

TULANEGREENWAVE.COM Klara Vyskocilova will enter the NCAA Singles Championship riding a 15-match win streak and unbeaten this spring.
Klara Vyskocilova will enter the NCAA Singles Championship riding a 15-match win streak and unbeaten this spring.

May 5, 2014

New Orleans - Tulane Klara Vyskocilova will continue her historic senior season on the biggest stage in collegiate tennis, as she was one of 64 singles players selected to compete in the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Singles Championships, May 21-26, at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia.

The 2014 Conference USA Player of the Year and a first team All C-USA performer, Vyskocilova was the automatic qualifier from C-USA and becomes Tulane's first selection to the singles championship since Jenny Kuehn in 2005.

Vyskocilova, who hails from Klatovy, Czech Republic, is currently the nation's 58th-ranked singles player and sports a 20-6 overall record in 2013-14. However a more impressive feat is the fact she is currently undefeated this spring with a perfect dual mark of 13-0, and has won her last 15 singles matches dating back to last fall.

Among her wins this season are a pair of victories over Top-25 ranked players and she has notched a mark of 5-2 against nationally-ranked singles players on the year.

"The level of excitement coming from Klara making the NCAA individual tournament is immeasurable," Tulane head coach Terri Sisk said. "This is the first time since 2005 that anyone from our program has made postseason and I could not be happier for her. We constantly talk about our program continuing to move in the right direction and this is yet just another step towards prominence. I know Klara is thrilled with her performance this year and also ending the year with the conference's most prestigious award and that just reiterates why she belongs there and why she will do an amazing job in representing Tulane."

All matches shall be the best-of-three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six- games-all will be used for all matches.



Automatic qualification into the Division I singles championships is awarded to any conference with one or more eligible singles players ranked in the ITA Top 125 for eligible/entered singles players. For conferences with more than one singles player within the ITA Top 125 eligible/entered singles players, the subcommittee applies the NCAA selection criteria to determine which student-athlete is the automatic qualifier from those conferences. All singles players must have a minimum of 13 completed singles matches, with six matches in the spring, in order to be selected as an automatic qualifier or an at-large selection.

Automatic qualifications (15), listed alphabetically by conference:
American Athletic -- Loreta Alonso, South Florida
ACC -- Jamie Loeb, North Carolina
Atlantic 10 -- Yukako Noi, VCU
Big 12 -- Breaunna Addison, Texas
Big East -- Ana Vladutu, DePaul
Big South -- Rokia Sacko, Gardner-Webb
Big Ten -- Emina Bektas, Michigan
Big West -- Cindy Nguyen, Hawaii
Conference USA -- Klara Vyskocilova, Tulane
Ivy -- Alanna Wolff, Princeton
Mountain West -- Laura Antonana Iriarte, San Diego State
Pac-12 -- Robin Anderson, UCLA
SEC -- Lauren Herring, Georgia
Sun Belt -- Abigail Tere-Apisah, Georgia State
West Coast -- Jenny Jullien, St. Mary's (Calif.)

At-large selections (49), listed alphabetically by last name:
Kristie Ahn, Stanford
Frances Altick, Vanderbilt
Jennifer Brady, UCLA
Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
Beatrice Capra, Duke
Hayley Carter, North Carolina
Alex Cercone, Florida
Lynn Chi, California
Danielle Collins, Virginia
Veronica Corning, Northwestern
Taylor Davidson, Stanford
Caroline Doyle, Stanford
Julia Elbaba, Virginia
Silvia Garcia, Georgia
Saska Gavrilovska, Texas A&M
Kiah Generette, Baylor
Quinn Gleason, Notre Dame
Ester Goldfeld, Duke
Lorraine Guillermo, Pepperdine
Krista Hardebeck, Stanford
Olivia Janowicz, Florida
Romy Kölzer, Clemson
Yana Koroleva, Clemson
Maho Kowase, Georgia
Desirae Krawczyk, Arizona State
Katie Le, Santa Clara
Viktoriya Lushkova, Oklahoma State
Hanna Mar, Duke
Kyle McPhillips, UCLA
Brianna Morgan, Florida
Stephanie Nauta, Virginia
Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State
Belinda Niu, Northwestern
Georgiana Patrasc, Mississippi State
Caroline Price, North Carolina
Nadia Ravita, Kentucky
Jordaan Sanford, Baylor
Zoë Scandalis, Southern California
Anett Schutting, California
Lacey Smyth, Arizona
Denise Starr, California
Cristina Stancu, Texas A&M
Zsofi Susanyi, California
Stefanie Tan, TCU
Ellen Tsay, Stanford
Chanelle Van Nguyen, UCLA
Stephanie Wagner, Miami (Fla.)
Ronit Yurovsky, Michigan
Carol Zhao, Stanford