Men's Tennis
Tulane Places Four on All-Louisiana Teams
Jonah Kane-West was named the Louisiana Freshman of the Year. [File photo by Ned Dishman]
Jonah Kane-West was named the Louisiana Freshman of the Year. [File photo by Ned Dishman]

May 22, 2005

NEW ORLEANS, La. - Five members of the Tulane University men's tennis team were recognized by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association in its annual awards released on Sunday. Four Green Wave standouts were named All-Louisiana while freshman Jonah Kane-West was named the Men's Tennis Freshman of the Year for the state.

Tulane recorded a school record 22 wins in 2005. In addition to winning its third straight Conference USA Championship, the Green Wave advanced to its ninth NCAA Tournament in a row. It had an unprecedented five players selected as all-conference by Conference USA.

Junior Jacobo Hernandez and sophomore Alberto Sottocorno were both selected to the All-Louisiana First Team, while senior Dmitriy Koch and sophomore David Goulet were All-Louisiana Second Team picks.

Kane-West was a key addition to the Green Wave lineup this year, posting 17 victories, including a singles triumph in the C-USA Championship match against Louisville and a win in the NCAA Tournament as he becomes the second straight player to win Louisiana Freshman of the Year honors. Goulet collected the honor last season.

Sottocorno led the Wave with 20 victories in dual-match singles action this year while Hernandez was the team leader all season and finished with a 16-5 spring record. Sottocorno earned third team all-league honors while Hernandez was a first team selection. Goulet was also a first-team All-C-USA selection after posting a 17-8 record while Koch, Tulane's No. 1 singles player, was named to the all-league second team.

2005 All-Louisiana Men's Tennis First Team
(listed in order of votes received)
Ken Skupski, LSU
Mark Growcott, LSU
Alberto Sottocorno, Tulane
Dusan Tabak, UL-Lafayette
Jacobo Hernandez, Tulane
Danny Bryan, LSU

All-Louisiana Second Team
David Goulet, Tulane
Dmitriy Koch, Tulane
Miroslav Vukicevic, Xavier
Julien Lausao, Southeastern Louisiana
Jason Hazley, LSU
Terry Richardson, III, Xavier

Player of the Year: Ken Skupski, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Mark Growcott, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Jonah Kane-West, Tulane
Coach of the Year: Jeff Brown, LSU




Tulane Gear

at the

Official Online Store