Booras Named ITA Southern Region Coach of the Year

TULANEGREENWAVE.COM <b>Head coach Mark Booras</b>
Head coach Mark Booras

May 13, 2014

NEW ORLEANS - Mark Booras, the head coach of the Tulane men's tennis program, was named the Southern Region Coach of the Year by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), it was announced on Tuesday.

Booras, in his fifth season at the helm of the Green Wave, guided Tulane to the best season since the program's return in the fall of 2009. The Green Wave posted a 15-9 record, reached a season-high ranking of 61st and advanced to the Conference USA Championships title match for the first time since 2005.

"This is a tremendous honor to be voted coach of the year in such a tough region with so many solid teams and great coaches," Booras said. "I'm truly humbled by the honor and thankful for my peers for voting for me."

The Southern Region includes five teams from the Southeastern Conference that are all ranked in the ITA National Rankings as well as three other ranked teams in the region.

Tulane received a national ranking from the ITA for all but two weeks during the season and defeated three ranked teams during the course of the season. Booras and the Green Wave accomplished this with a line-up that consisted of one senior, three sophomores and two freshmen, including the Conference USA Freshman of the Year Jao Chi-Shan.

The 2013 Freshman of the Year Dominik Koepfer paired with Chi-Shan to receive first-team All-C-USA doubles honors and Koepfer and freshman Sebastian Rey earned second-team All-C-USA singles honors.

Overall during the 2013-14 season, Tulane won 108 singles matches and 44 doubles matches. The Green Wave posted a .631 singles winning percentage in dual matches and won 56.9 percent of the doubles matches in the spring.

Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year
Atlantic Jeff Zinn, Pennsylvania State University
Carolina Michael Leonard, Elon University
Central John Roddick, University of Oklahoma
Midwest Arvid Swan, Northwestern University
Mountain Greg Patton, Boise State University
Northeast Bid Goswami, Columbia University
Northwest Nils Schyllander, University of Oregon
Ohio Valley Paul Goebel, University of Memphis
Southeast Manuel Diaz, University of Georgia
Southern Mark Booras, Tulane University
Southwest Nick Carless, California Polytechnic State University
Texas Matt Knoll, Baylor University