Mark and Young Receive All-C-USA Honors



May 3, 2012

NEW ORLEANS - Idan Mark and Joe Young, of the Tulane men's tennis team, received postseason honors from Conference USA on Thursday as the 2012 first and second singles and doubles teams were announced by the conference office, along with the specialty award winners.

Mark, a junior from Hod Hasharon, Israel, earned first-team All-C-USA honors after posting a 10-7 dual match record in the spring with a pair of conference victories. He was 7-7 on court one and went 3-0 on court two and nine of his 10 wins were in straight sets.

Mark also teamed with Joe Young to receive second-team All-C-USA doubles honors. The pair posted a 14-6 dual match record, including a perfect 6-0 record in Conference USA matches. They help guide Tulane to six straight doubles point wins during the season and won 10- straight matches.

"It's a great honor to have singles and doubles players to be voted onto the all conference teams," Tulane head coach Mark Booras said. "It really shows their development over the last 3 years as well as the development of the program."

Mark, who was named second-team all-conference last season, is the first Green Wave player to be named first-team since David Goulet earned the honor in 2005.

The Green Wave (12-11) posted the program's first winning season since the 2005 team went 22-8.

All-Conference USA Singles First Team
(four-way tie for the final spot on the first team resulted in a nine member first team)
Connor Glennon, Memphis
Johnny Grimal, Memphis
David O'Leary, Memphis
Sam Garforth-Bles, Rice
Idan Mark, Tulane
Japie De Klerk, Tulsa
Grant Ive, Tulsa
Clifford Marsland, Tulsa
Ashley Watling, Tulsa

All-Conference USA Singles Second Team
Joran Vliegen, East Carolina
Gaston Cuadranti, SMU
Arturs Kazijevs, SMU
Danny Manlow, UAB
Jorge Blasco, UCF

All-Conference USA Doubles First Team
Connor Glennon/David Henry, Memphis
David O'Hare/Joe Salisbury, Memphis
Clifford Marsland/Ashley Watling, Tulsa

All-Conference USA Doubles Second Team
Christian Saravia/Justin To, Rice
Arturs Kazijevs/Tobias Flood, SMU
Idan Mark/Joe Young, Tulane

Coach of the Year: Paul Goebel, Memphis
Player of the Year: Ashley Watling, Tulsa
Co-Freshmen of the Year: Connor Glennon, Memphis and Arturs Kazijevs, SMU
Outstanding Singles Player of the Championship: Grant Ive, Tulsa
Outstanding Doubles Team of the Championship: Japie De Klerk/Alejandro Espejo, Tulsa