Tulane Caps '38 In The Dome' Celebration With All-Dome Team

TULANEGREENWAVE.COM The All-Dome Team features 25 All-Americans and 33 players that have gone on to play professional football.
The All-Dome Team features 25 All-Americans and 33 players that have gone on to play professional football.

Nov. 23, 2013

All-Dome Team Offense Bios |  All-Dome Team Defense Bios |  All-Dome Team Specialist Bios

NEW ORLEANS - With the Green Wave slated to play their final regular-season game in the Mercedes-Benz Superdome this afternoon against Conference USA foe UTEP, the Tulane Department of Athletics honored its all-time greatest players to take the turf in the facility with the release of the All-Dome Team.

Selected based on a vote of fans, coaches and administrators, the 52-member All-Dome Team features 25 All-Americans and 23 players drafted into professional football. Of the 33 players on the All-Dome Team to make the pro ranks, 23 played in the NFL. The Green Wave are slated to move back on campus for the 2014 season with the construction of Yulman Stadium currently underway.

Headlining the All-Dome Team first-team offense are quarterback Shaun King (1995-98), running backs Matt Forté (2004-07) and Mewelde Moore (2000-03), along with wide receivers JaJuan Dawson (1996-99) and Marc Zeno (1984-87( and tight end Rodney Holman (1978-81). Providing protection and opening running lanes for the historical unit are tackles Eric Laakso (1975-77) and Bernard Robertson (1997-2000), guards Jim Boyle (1981-83) and Andrew Nierman (2007-10), and center Dee Methvin (1976-78).

On the first-team defense, ends Floyd Dorsey (1999-2002) and Antonio Harris (2004-07) join tackles Dennis O'Sullivan (1995-98) and Wilfred Simon (1977-80) on the line, and the linebacking corps consists of Anthony Cannon (2002-05), Burnell Dent (1982-85) and Frank Robinson (1977-80). In the secondary, Michael Jordan (1995-98) and Lionel Washington (1979-82) are the cornerbacks while Martin Mitchell (1973-76) and Mike Staid (1991-94) are the safeties.



Tulane's All-Dome first-team specialists are punter Chip Clark (1990-93), kicker Seth Marler (1999-2002), punt returner John Wilson (1997-2000) and kick returner Jeff Liggon (1993-96).

The second-team offense consists of quarterback Terrence Jones (1985-88), running backs Marvin Christian (1977-79) and Jerald Sowell (1993-96), wide receivers Robert Griffin (1980, 1982-83) and Roydell Williams (2001-02, 2003-04), tight end Larry Route (1983-86) and linemen Jerry Godfrey (1996-99), Andre Lockley (1984-87), Don Maggs (1981-83), Chuck Pitcock (1977-80) and Darin Shoulders (1987-90).

The defensive reserves are ends Kenan Blackmon (1999-2002) and Dezman Moses (2010-11), tackles Brian Douglas (1978-81) and Clint Wenzel (1980-83), linebackers Richard Harvey (1985-88), Jerry Phillips (1997-2000) and Brian Williams (1994-97), cornerbacks Lynaris Elpheage (2000-02) and Mitchell Price (1987-89), and safeties Tra Boger (2001-03, 2005) and Treg Songy (1981-84).

Kicker Cairo Santos (2010-present), the only active Green Wave student-athlete on the All-Dome Team, highlights the second-team specialists and is joined by punter Casey Roussel (1999-2001), punt returner Reggie Reginelli (1979-82) and kick returner Michael Pierce (1986-89).

While the Green Wave will look to end its Dome era on a high note on Saturday against the Miners, Tulane will close out the 2013 regular season on Saturday, Nov. 30, at Rice. The Wave still have a chance to win the C-USA Western Division but in order to do so, they will need to win each of their final two games and have both North Texas and UTSA lose at least one of its last two contests.

All-Dome Team

First-Team Offense
QB   Shaun King          1995-98
RB   Matt Forté          2004-07
     Mewelde Moore       2000-03
WR   JaJuan Dawson       1996-99
     Marc Zeno           1984-87
TE   Rodney Holman       1978-81
OT   Eric Laakso         1975-77
     Bernard Robertson   1997-2000
OG   Jim Boyle           1981-83
     Andrew Nierman      2007-10
C    Dee Methvin         1976-78

First-Team Defense DE Floyd Dorsey 1999-2002 Antonio Harris 2004-07 DT Dennis O'Sullivan 1995-98 Wilfred Simon 1977-80 LB Anthony Cannon 2002-05 Burnell Dent 1982-85 Frank Robinson 1977-80 CB Michael Jordan 1995-98 Lionel Washington 1979-82 DB Martin Mitchell 1973-76 Mike Staid 1991-94

First-Team Specialists P Chip Clark 1990-93 K Seth Marler 1999-2002 PR John Wilson 1997-2000 KR Jeff Liggon 1993-96

Second-Team Offense QB Terrence Jones 1985-88 RB Marvin Christian 1977-79 Jerald Sowell 1993-96 WR Robert Griffin 1980,82-83 Roydell Williams 2000-01,03-04 TE Larry Route 1983-86 OT Andre Lockley 1984-87 Darin Shoulders 1987-90 OG Jerry Godfrey 1996-99 Chuck Pitcock 1977-80 C Don Maggs* 1981-83

Second-Team Defense DE Kenan Blackmon 1999-2002 Dezman Moses 2010-11 DT Brian Douglas 1978-81 Clint Wenzel 1980-83 LB Richard Harvey 1985-88 Jerry Phillips 1997-2000 Brian Williams 1994-97 CB Lynaris Elpheage 2000-02 Mitchell Price 1987-89 DB Tra Boger 2001-03,05 Treg Songy 1981-84

Second-Team Specialists P Casey Roussel 1999-2001 K Cairo Santos 2010-13 PR Reggie Reginelli 1979-82 KR Michael Pierce 1986-89

*named in place of a center due to a tie in voting at the tackle position