Tulane's Devon Walker to Accept 2013 Disney Spirit Award

Devon Walker

Nov. 22, 2013

New Orleans - Tulane University senior Devon Walker will receive this year's Disney Spirit Award, an honor given annually by Disney Sports to college football's most inspirational figure. Walker has exhibited tremendous courage and perseverance following a severe spinal cord injury last season, and has become a motivational figure for the football team, the university and the New Orleans community.

"Winning the Disney Spirit Award gives me a renewed sense of purpose to continue on my path toward recovery and, in doing so, provide inspiration to others to never give up,'' said Walker, 22, who is paralyzed from the neck down. "I have a fantastic support system in my family, friends, teammates, coaches, university staff, and others from around the country who constantly encourage me to keep fighting. Returning to campus and my team this fall has allowed me to regain a sense of normalcy and has given me hope for a full and successful life."

Walker, who hails from nearby Destrehan, began his football career with Tulane in 2009 as a walk-on before earning a scholarship and becoming the starting safety and team captain for the 2012 season. In the second game of that season against Tulsa, Walker collided with a teammate while attempting to make a tackle just seconds before halftime. The impact was heard throughout the stadium, as was the silence that followed. Walker injured his C3 and C4 vertebrae, which left him paralyzed from the neck down. He spent several months in the hospital before returning home in December 2012.

A year later, he returned to the classroom and to the football field sidelines as an ever-present supporter of his teammates, a testament to his determination and resilience. He re-enrolled in classes this fall and is close to earning his bachelor's degree in cell and molecular biology.

"Devon's positive outlook and determination to remain an integral figure within the Tulane football program embodies the true essence of the Disney Spirit Award,'' said Faron Kelley, director of sports marketing for Disney Sports. "We salute his courage, resilience and perseverance, and wish him every success in life.''



In between his schoolwork, Walker continues to attend rehabilitation sessions three days a week and spends ample time with the team, attending meetings, practices and all Tulane home football games. Although he is no longer on the active roster, Walker remains a focal point for the team this season. A sticker with Walker's jersey No. 18 is on every helmet, and no active player wears his No. 18 jersey.

Before each game, a Tulane player, who is specifically chosen for his teamwork and dedication, is designated to run onto the field waving a No. 18 flag before the rest of the players take the field. And Walker gives a pregame speech to the team each week. The Tulane Green Wave is currently 6-4 this year with two games remaining.

The New Orleans and Tulane University communities have rallied around Walker, with many groups donating time and money to help create Devon's Den, an apartment attached to the Walker family home specially designed for him. The apartment is outfitted with the latest technology and medical enhancements that make living at home easier and more accessible for Walker and his family.

"Devon epitomizes what this award was established to recognize," Tulane Director of Athletics Rick Dickson said. "He leads by example in showing all how to inspire and motivate others by demonstrating an uncompromising and unrelenting spirit in facing life's toughest adversities and he does this all with the greatest sense of dignity and grace. Devon has done this for an entire campus, city and nation and no one is more deserving of this prestigious award."

"Devon Walker is a special young man and is really a hero to all of us," Tulane head coach Curtis Johnson said. "I don't know if anyone could go through what he has experienced in two or three lifetimes. He is an inspiration to me, my family, our football team and the entire Tulane and New Orleans communities."

Kelley, and last year's Disney Spirit Award recipient, University of Texas player Nate Boyer, will present the award during The Home Depot College Football Awards at Walt Disney World Resort on Dec. 12. The 23rd annual awards show - hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard and Samantha Ponder - will once again air on ESPN at 7 p.m. and originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney's BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Walker becomes the 18th recipient of the award, joining past honorees Daniel Huffman (1996), Dwight Collins (1997), Matt Hartl (1998), East Carolina University (1999), Hameen Ali (2000), the United States Service Academy football teams (2001), Dewayne White (2002), Neil Parry (2003), Tim Frisby (2004), the Tulane University football team (2005), University of Louisville band member Patrick Henry Hughes (2006), Zerbin Singleton (2007), Tim Tebow (2008), Mark Herzlich (2009), D.J. Williams (2010), Carson Tinker and the University of Alabama (2011) and Nate Boyer (2012).

Walker will join the Green Wave for its final regular season home game this Saturday against UTEP in the Superdome at 2:30 p.m. Walker will be among 19 seniors recognized during pre-game ceremonies.

For tickets to Saturday's game, as well as future Green Wave events, contact the Tulane Athletics Ticket Office. The Ticket Office is located on the first floor of the Wilson Center on Ben Weiner Drive, and tickets can be purchased in person weekdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., over the phone at 504-861-WAVE (9283) or via the Internet at www.TulaneGreenWave.com.

Disney Sports Spirit Award Recipients:

Date	Recipient	          School (Hometown)
1996	Daniel Huffman	          Rossville High School (Rossville, Ill.)
1997	Dwight Collins	          University of Central Florida (Lake Charles, La.)
1998	Matt Hartl	          Northwestern University (Denver, Colo.)
1999	East Carolina Univ.*      East Carolina University (Greenville, N.C.)
2000	Hameen Ali	          College of William & Mary (Dover, Del.)
2001	U.S. Air Force Academy**  U.S. Air Force Academy (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
	U.S. Military Academy**	  U.S. Military Academy (West Point, N.Y.)
	U.S. Naval Academy**	  U.S. Naval Academy (Annapolis, Md.)
2002 	Dewayne White	          University of Louisville (Marbury, Ala.)
2003 	Neil Parry 	          San Jose State University (Sonora, Calif.)
2004	Tim Frisby	          University of South Carolina (Allentown, Pa.)
2005	Tulane University*	  Tulane University (New Orleans, La.)
2006	Patrick Henry Hughes	  University of Louisville (Louisville, Ky.)
2007	Zerbin Singleton	  United States Naval Academy (Annapolis, Md.)
2008	Tim Tebow	          University of Florida (Jacksonville, Fla.)
2009	Mark Herzlich	          Boston College (Wayne, Pa.)
2010	D.J. Williams	          University of Arkansas (Little Rock, Ark.)
2011	Carson Tinker*	          University of Alabama (Murfreesboro, Tenn.)
2012	Nate Boyer	          University of Texas (Austin, Tex.)
2013	Devon Walker	          Tulane University (Destrehan, La.)

* presented to entire football team
** presented to football teams at all three service academies