Tulane's Bowden Named Bryant Finalist

Among six finalists for national coach of the year award.

November 17, 1998

HOUSTON - Coaches of the four major unbeaten teams, including Tulane head coach Tommy Bowden, are among the six finalists for the Bear Bryant Award honoring college football's coach of the year.

Bob Toledo of UCLA, Phillip Fulmer of Tennessee and Bill Snyder of Kansas State join Bowden in making the ballot while leading their teams to unbeaten seasons so far.

They are joined by Houston Nutt of Arkansas and John Cooper of Ohio State.

Bowden, in his second year with the Green Wave, has led 12th-ranked Tulane to a 9-0 record, its best start in 67 years. In addition to a 16-4 mark at Tulane, Bowden has guided the Green Wave to consecutive winning seasons for the first time in 17 years and its first conference title nearly five decades.

Bowden was earlier this month named one of 10 finalists for another honor, the Eddie Robinson/FWAA Coach of the Year Award.

Approximately 800 members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association are eligible to vote for the award, which will be presented Dec. 10.