Tulane's Devon Walker Named to Burlsworth Trophy List

TULANEGREENWAVE.COM Tulane senior safety Devon Walker
Tulane senior safety Devon Walker

Nov. 14, 2012

New Orleans - Tulane senior safety Devon Walker is one of 50 former football walk-on student-athletes named the third annual 2012 Burlsworth Trophy list, which is presented by the Springdale (Ark.) Rotary Club.

The Trophy is given to the most outstanding football player in America who began his career as a walk-on. A walk-on is defined as a player who began his first season of participation with a D1 (FBS) football program without financial aid of any kind from his university's athletic department.

Walker, a New Orleans native who prepped at nearby Destrehan High School, entered Tulane University in the fall of 2009 as a walk-on student-athlete on the Green Wave football team. That season, he played in nine games a true freshman earned his first collegiate start against SMU. He then saw action in all 12 games the following season as a sophomore.

Prior to the 2011 campaign, he was awarded a scholarship from former head football coach Bob Toledo and played in nine games.

A cell and molecular biology major, Walker started the 2012 season opener at strong safety against Rutgers and recorded a team-best nine tackles. The following week in the Conference USA opener at Tulsa, Walker once again earned the starting assignment, but suffered a cervical spine fracture after he collided with a teammate while attempting to make a tackle on the final play of the first half.

The following day, Walker underwent a three-hour surgery where neurosurgeons stabilized his spine. Ten days later, Walker was moved to a comprehensive in-patient rehabilitation center to continue his recovery.

The 2011 Burlsworth Trophy winner was quarterback Austin Davis from Southern Miss. The inaugural recipient in 2010 was center Sean Bedford from Georgia Tech.

"We are extremely proud of this group of nominees for the 2012 Burlsworth Trophy," said Marty Burlsworth, CEO and founder of the Burlsworth Foundation and brother of Brandon. "All of these young men have worked very hard to get to where they are. The stories behind these players are incredible and they are all winners in my book."



Without one D1 scholarship offer, Brandon Burlsworth walked on to the Razorback football team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children that have limited opportunities.

Springdale Rotary Club will host a banquet on Dec. 3 in Springdale, Ark. to honor the finalists and to announce the 2012 winner.

Click here for more information about the Burlsworth Trophy.

The 2012 Burlsworth Trophy nominees are:

Player	            Class   Position	        School
Kevin Ozier	    SR	    Wide Receiver	Arizona State University
Cole Lorigan	    SR	    Safety	        Arkansas State University
Jamill Smith	    JR	    Wide Receiver	Ball State University
Ezekiel Ansah	    SR	    Defensive Line	Brigham Young University
Chandler Catanzaro  JR	    Place Kicker	Clemson University
James Skelton	    SR	    Linebacker	        Colorado State University
Garrett Rider	    JR	    Safety	        Duke University
Tristan Okpalaugo   SR	    Outside Linebacker	Fresno State University
B.J. Finney	    SO	    Offensive Line	Kansas State University
Norman Wolfe	    SR	    Cornerback	        Kent State University
Jeremiah Taylor	    JR	    Defensive End	Marshall University
Anthony Amos	    SR	    Wide Receiver	Middle Tennessee State University
Chris Salvi	    SR	    Safety	        Notre Dame
Keith Moore	    JR	    Linebacker	        Ohio University
Bryson Rose	    SR	    Place Kicker	Ole Miss
Andrew Seumalo	    SR	    Defensive Tackle	Oregon State University
Matt McGloin	    SR	    Quarterback	        Pennsylvania State University
Jamael Thomas	    SR	    Defensive Tackle	Rice University
Michael Burton	    SO	    Fullback	        Rutgers University
David Quessenberry  SR	    Offensive Tackle	San Jose State University
Joel Hasley	    SO	    Linebacker	        Texas Christian University
Andrew Abbott	    SR	    Strong Safety	UCLA
Carson Tinker	    SR	    Deep Snapper	University of Alabama
Trey Clark	    SR	    Offensive Line	University of South Alabama
Jared Tevis	    SO	    Safety	        University of Arizona
Dylan Breeding	    SR	    Punter	        University of Arkansas
Kyle Negrete	    SR	    Punter	        University of Southern California
Ryan Iverson	    JR	    Deep Snapper	University of Colorado
Johnny McEntee	    SR	    Quarterback	        University of Connecticut
Shane Ros	    JR	    Wide Receiver	University of Houston
Bobby Cowan	    SR	    Punter	        University of Idaho
Mike Meyer	    JR	    Place Kicker	University of Iowa
Craig McIntosh	    SR	    Place Kicker	University of Kentucky
Alex Kupper	    SR	    Offensive Tackle	University of Louisville
Mitchell Bailey	    SR	    Running Back	University of Louisiana at Monroe
Mitch Huelsing	    SR	    Defensive Back	University of Memphis
Jordan Kovacs	    JR	    Safety	        University of Michigan
Max Copeland	    JR	    Offensive Line	University of Missouri
Spencer Long	    JR	    Offensive Guard	University of Nebraska
Matt Raymer	    SR	    Strong Safety	University of New Mexico
Pete Mangum	    SR	    Defensive Back	University of North Carolina
Dominique Whaley    SR	    Running Back	University of Oklahoma
Alex King	    SR	    Punter	        University of Texas
A.J. Lindeman	    SR	    Offensive Line	University of Toledo
Jared St. John	    SR	    Defensive End	University of Tulsa
Jared Abbrederis    JR	    Wide Receiver	University of Wisconsin
Devon Walker	    SR	    Safety	        Tulane University
McKade Brady	    SR	    Free Safety	        Utah State
Spencer Bishop	    JR	    Tight End	        Wake Forest University
Eric Monette	    SR	    Wide Receiver	Western Michigan University