Tulane's Ryan Grant Tabbed to 2013 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List

TULANEGREENWAVE.COM Ryan Grant is one of 22 returning Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) wide receivers to compile 1,000 yards last season.
Ryan Grant is one of 22 returning Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) wide receivers to compile 1,000 yards last season.

July 16, 2013

New Orleans - Tulane senior wide receiver Ryan Grant became the second Green Wave player to be selected to a preseason watch list in as many weeks as he was named to the 2013 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List, as it was announced today by The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. Grant was also on the Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List as a junior in 2011, but suffered a season-ending injury in the opener against Southeastern Louisiana. He joins senior placekicker Cairo Santos on college football's preseason watch lists. Santos, a consensus All-America selection and winner of the 2012 Lou Groza Award a year ago, was selected to the 2013 Lou Groza Award Preseason Watch List last week.

A native of Beaumont, Texas, Grant is one of 22 returning Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) wide receivers to compile 1,000 yards last season. As a redshirt-junior in 2012, he claimed first-team All-Conference USA honors by the league office and Phil Steele Publications, as well as second-team All-Louisiana, after leading the team with 76 catches, 1,149 receiving and all-purpose yards, and six touchdown grabs. He paced C-USA and sat 16th nationally in receiving yards per game (95.75) and his yardage total ranks fifth in Tulane single-season history.

Grant posted 100-plus receiving yards seven times, including in each of the final three games. He hauled in a career-best 13 - which tied for the fourth-most in school history - for 108 yards at Houston on Nov. 24, pulled down 11 passes for 113 yards and a touchdown at Memphis on Nov. 10 and hauled in 10 catches for 94 yards vs. East Carolina on Nov. 17. He achieved a career-high 184 receiving yards while tying a career-best with two touchdowns on six grabs vs. UAB on Oct. 27.



Grant enters his final collegiate season ranking sixth in Tulane history with nine 100-yard receiving games, eighth with 14.54 yards per catch, 11th with 1,730 receiving yards and 13th with 12 touchdown catches.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 200 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. According to TQC Foundation Chairman Ritchie Pickron, "Given the significant number of outstanding college receivers playing in the 2013 season, the race for the Biletnikoff Award is wide open."

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 18, 2013, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 25, 2013. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at www.biletnikoffaward.com.

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 12, 2013, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:00 - 9:00pm on ESPN.

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994. Seventeen college receivers have won the award, including Marqise Lee, Randy Moss, Calvin Johnson, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald.

2013 Biletnikoff Award Pre-season Watch List
(listed in alphabetical order)

Player	                School	        Year
Jared Abbrederis	Wisconsin	SR
Davante Adams	        Fresno State	SO
Nelson Agholor	        USC	        SO
Alex Amidon	        Boston College	SR
Odell Beckham, Jr.	LSU	        JR
Kenny Bell	        Nebraska	JR
Michael Bennett	        Georgia	        JR
Chris Boyd	        Vanderbilt	JR
Corey Brown	        Ohio State	SR
Aaron Burbridge	        Michigan State	SO
Damiere Byrd	        South Carolina	JR
Michael Campanaro	Wake Forest	SR
Brandon Carter	        TCU	        JR
Brandon Coleman	        Rutgers	        JR
Brandin Cooks	        Oregon State	JR
Amari Cooper	        Alabama	        SO
Jamison Crowder	        Duke            JR
DaVaris Daniels	        Notre Dame	JR
Quinshad Davis	        North Carolina	SO
Mike Davis	        Texas	        SR
Titus Davis	        Central Mich.	JR
Stefon Diggs	        Maryland	SO
Phillip Dorsett	        Miami	        JR
William Dukes	        FAU	        JR
Quinton Dunbar	        Florida	        SO
Bruce Ellington	        South Carolina	JR
Mike Evans	        Texas A&M	SO
Shaquelle Evans	        UCLA	        SR
Austin Franklin	        New Mexico St.	JR
Jeremy Gallon	        Michigan	SR
Keyarris Garrett	Tulsa	        JR
Ryan Grant              Tulane	        SR
Rashad Green	        FSU	        JR
Dorial Green-Beckham	Missouri	SO
Deontay Greenberry	Houston	        SO
Noel Grigsby	        San Jose State	SR
Je'Ron Hamm	        ULM	        SR
Justin Hardy	        East Carolina	JR
Chris Harper	        California	SO
Robert Herron	        Wyoming	        SR
Cody Hoffman	        BYU	        SR
Josh Huff	        Oregon	        SR
T.J. Jones	        Notre Dame	SR
Cody Latimer	        Indiana	        JR
Marqise Lee	        USC	        JR
Jordan Leslie	        UTEP	        JR
Jordan Matthews	        Vanderbilt	SR
J.D. McKissic	        Arkansas State	SO
Trey Metoyer	        Oklahoma	SO
Matt Miller	        Boise State	JR
Malcolm Mitchell	Georgia	        JR
Donte Moncrief	        Ole Miss	JR
Tracy Moore	        Oklahoma State	SR
Alex Neutz	        Buffalo	        JR
Kevin Norwood	        Alabama	        SR
DeVante Parker	        Louisville	JR
Charone Peake	        Clemson	        JR
Bernard Reedy	        Toledo	        SR
Tevin Reese	        Baylor	        SR
Paul Richardson	        Colorado	JR
Allen Robinson	        Penn State	JR
Shaq Roland	        South Carolina	SO
Alonzo Russell	        Toledo	        SO
Jalen Saunders	        Oklahoma	SR
Jaxon Shipley	        Texas	        JR
Tommy Shuler	        Marshall	SO
Devin Smith	        Ohio State	JR
Willie Snead	        Ball State	JR
Josh Stewart	        Oklahoma State	JR
Devin Street	        Pittsburgh	JR
Eric Thomas	        Troy	        SR
Jordan Thompson	        West Virginia	FR
Eric Ward	        Texas Tech	SR
Sammy Watkins	        Clemson	        JR
Brandon Wimberly	Nevada	        SR