Tulane's Dickerson Named the NABC District 8 Coach of the Year

TULANEGREENWAVE.COM Tulane head coach Dave Dickerson has been selected as the NABC District 8 Coach of the Year
Tulane head coach Dave Dickerson has been selected as the NABC District 8 Coach of the Year

March 11, 2008

New Orleans - Tulane University men's basketball coach Dave Dickerson was one of 15 head coaches from around the nation to receive all-district coaching honors from the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). Dickerson was named the NABC District 8 Coach of the Year, and was the only coach from Conference USA to receive the national award.

Dickerson, who is a first time recipient of the award, is in his third season at the helm of the Green Wave men's basketball program, and has an overall record of 45-44.

This season, Dickerson has guided Tulane to a 16-14 overall record that includes wins over Southeastern Conference members Auburn, Georgia and LSU, and the Green Wave also has a win over St. John's out of the Big East Conference. With its 16 victories this season, the Green Wave registered back-to-back winning seasons for the first time in 11 years.

Last year, Dickerson led Tulane to a 17-13 overall record and TU recorded its best conference finish in nine years with a 9-7 league mark, which was good enough for fourth place. The Wave's 17 victories marked the most wins in seven seasons and the program's first winning season in four years.

With Dickerson on the sideline, Tulane has a record of 27-13 (.675) at Fogelman Arena and a mark of 17-5 (.772) against non-conference teams in New Orleans. The Green Wave is 2-2 in the Conference USA Tournament under Dickerson and has never lost an opening round game.

Under his tutelage, three Green Wave players have earned all-conference honors, including All-Conference USA third-team performers Quincy Davis (2006) and David Gomez (2007, 2008), and Kevin Sims, who was selected to the All C-USA Freshman team in 2007.

Dickerson registered his 40th career win (at Tulsa) during his third season (76 games) and joined Clifford Wells (67 games), Charles Moir (71 games), Ned Fowler (61 games) and Perry Clark (84 games) as the only coaches in the 97-year history of Tulane basketball to win 40 games in under three seasons. The 76 games are the fourth fewest games in school history needed to attain 40 wins, and he currently ranks seventh for career coaching victories.



Dickerson was named the 22nd head men's basketball coach in Tulane history on April 1, 2005. He came to Tulane from alma mater of Maryland, where he spent nine years as an assistant under Gary Williams. In 2004-05, he was the program's associate head coach. He helped the Terrapins to nine straight postseason appearances, including five Sweet Sixteens, two Final Fours and one National Championship in 2002.

Listed below are the NABC Division I All-District coaches:

District 1: Jim Calhoun, University of Connecticut
District 2: Steve Donahue, Cornell University
District 3: Mike Rice, Robert Morris University
District 4: John Thompson III, Georgetown University
District 5: Bob McKillop, Davidson College
District 6: Ronnie Arrow, University of South Alabama
District 7: Kevin Stallings, Vanderbilt University and Bruce Pearl, University of Tennessee
District 8: Dave Dickerson, Tulane University
District 9: Rick Barnes, University of Texas
District 10: Sean Miller, Xavier University
District 11: Bo Ryan, University of Wisconsin
District 12: Keno Davis, Drake University
District 13: Greg Graham, Boise State University
District 14: Trent Johnson, Stanford University
District 15: Bob Burton, Cal State Fullerton