Tulane's Facundus Named to Preseason NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List

TULANEGREENWAVE.COM Alex Facundus made 25 appearances out of the bullpen in 2012, second on the squad
Alex Facundus made 25 appearances out of the bullpen in 2012, second on the squad

Feb. 8, 2013

NEW ORLEANS - Junior right handed pitcher Alex Facundus was named to the Preseason National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Watch List, as announced by the organization today.

The Baton Rouge, La., native made 25 appearances out of the bullpen in 2012, second on the team behind former closer D.J. Ponder's 27 appearances. Facundus pitched 36.1 innings, posting a 1.98 ERA and striking out 28. In those 25 relief appearances, Facundus notched a 3-2 record.

"Alex has had two really good years for us, and we are excited about his role this year," stated Tulane baseball head coach Rick Jones.

During his freshman campaign, Facundus recorded an 8-2 record with a 3.43 ERA after making 29 relief appearances. For his efforts, the righty was named to the Conference USA All-Freshman Team. He was also a Second Team All-Louisiana selection and a Louisville Slugger Freshman All-American.

The NCBWA was founded in 1962 and is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. The Stopper of the Year was introduced by the NCBWA in 2005 to honor the nation's top relief pitcher. The watch list will be whittled down in the middle of the season and then cut to five before the NCAA Regionals. The regular-season saves leader is automatically chosen as one of the five finalists. The winner of the award is announced just prior to the start of the NCAA Super Regionals.

Former Tulane pitchers Nick Pepitone (2010 and 2011) and Daniel Latham (2006 and 2007) were named to the preseason watch lists in past years. Pepitone - in both years - and Latham - in 2007 - made it to the midseason watch list.



Tulane opens the season at the Texas State Tournament - held in San Marcos, Texas from Feb. 15-18. They will face Sam Houston State, Texas State and Missouri State before heading back to the Big Easy for their first home tilt against Southeastern Louisiana on Feb. 19.

You can follow the Green Wave on Twitter (@GreenWaveBSB) or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/GreenWaveBaseball.

Brady Anderson, Florida Gulf Coast, So.
Barrett Astin, Arkansas, Jr.
Kyle Bartsch, South Alabama, Sr.
David Berg, UCLA, So.
Josh Biggs, Evansville, Sr.
Tony Bryant, Oregon State, Sr.
Michael Burchett, Sam Houston State, Sr.
Nick Burdi, Louisville, So.
Tyler Burgess, Missouri State, So.
Aaron Burke, Coastal Carolina, Sr.
Chase Byerly, Butler, Sr.
Gunnar Carroll, Army, Jr.
Will Chesney, East Tennessee State, Jr.
Pat Christensen, LaSalle, Sr.
Adam Cimber, San Francisco, Sr.
Ryan Connolly, Coastal Carolina, Sr.
Bret Dahlson, Loyola Marymount, Jr.
Ryan Deeter, UCLA, Jr.
Josh Dezse, Ohio State, Jr.
Matt Dunbar, Arizona State, Sr.
Todd Eaton, Southern Illinois, Jr.
Eric Eck, Wofford, Jr.
Alex Facundus, Tulane, Jr.
Scott Firth, Clemson, Sr.
Max Garner, Baylor, Sr.
John Garrett, VMI, Sr.
Michael Gomez, FIU, Sr.
Joe Goodman, High Point, So.
John Gorman, Boston College, So.
Trevor Gott, Kentucky, Jr.
Zack Hartman, UNLV, Jr.
Preston Hatcher, Western Carolina, Sr.
Taylor Haydel, Western Kentucky, Sr.
Nate Hill, Troy, Sr.
Dylan Hills, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.
Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State, So.
Brett Huber, Mississippi, Sr.
Chris Huffman, James Madison, So.
Kyle Kingsley, North Dakota State, Sr.
Corey Knebel, Texas, Jr.
Clark Labitan, Virginia Tech, Sr.
Steven Leasure, South Florida, Sr.
Brett Loeding, Northern Kentucky, Sr.
Michael Lorenzen, Cal State Fullerton, Jr.
Ryan Mattes, Campbell, Sr.
Justin McCalvin, Kennesaw State, So.
Hobie McClain, New Mexico, Sr.
Ronnie Muck, Illinois, Jr.
Jake Naumann, Evansville,Sr.
James Norwood, Saint Louis, So.
Kenny O'Brien, George Washington, Sr.
Thomas Olson, Dartmouth, So.
Race Parmenter, UC Irvine, Sr.
Drew Reynolds, East Carolina, Jr.
Joel Rinehart, Navy, Sr.
Bradley Roney, Southern Miss, So.
Reid Roper, Illinois, So.
Kyle Ruchim, Northwestern, Jr.
A.J. Salcines, Miami (Fla.), Jr.
Logan Scott, California, Sr.
Jimmie Sherfy, Oregon, Jr.
Dan Slania, Notre Dame, Jr.
Michael Smith, Dallas Baptist, Sr.
Chad Sobotka, USC Upstate, So.
Colby Suggs, Arkansas, Jr.
Tim Swatek, Fordham, Jr.
David Teasley, Mercer, Sr.
Kellen Urbon, Cornell, So.
A.J. Vanegas, Stanford, Jr.
Dylan Vogt, Nebraska, Sr.
Michael Wagner, San Diego, Jr.
Tyler Webb, South Carolina, Sr.
Nate Williams, Kansas State, So.
Mark Winkelman, Creighton, Sr.
Nate Young, Elon, Sr.