UNCC Men Jump to the Lead at C-USA Track Championships



May 12, 2000

NEW ORLEANS -- UNC Charlotte teammates took the top two spots in the men's long jump to key the 49ers rise to the lead after two days of the 2000 Conference USA Outdoor Track and Field Championships at Tad Gormley Stadium.

Rephel Martin and Will Montgomery finished one-two in the event to earn 18 of the team's 45 points through competition Saturday. Martin won the event with a leap of 26 feet, five inches to out-distance Montgomery, who finished with a mark of 26 feet, one inch. Both finished ahead of pre-meet favorite Delvit Rogers of Memphis, who entered the meet as the nation's fourth-ranked long jumper. Rogers finished third with a leap of 25 feet, 9.25 inches.

UNC Charlotte lead the event with 45 points, while Cincinnati is second with 34 points and Southern Miss stands third at 29.

In other men's events, Southern Miss' Jason Wilson set a C-USA Championship record with a score of 7,521 to win the decathlon. Tulane's Solomon Kandie captured the 3,000-meter steeplechase with a time of 8:57.95.

Field event success also propelled the University of Houston into the lead of the women's competition, as the Cougars captured four individual event titles en route to a two-day total of 68 points. UH leads South Florida, who ranks second with 44.50 points.

Senior Ifoma Jones won the heptathlon with 5,009 points in the afternoon and returned to win the high jump (5-feet-8) in the evening. She has won both of those events in each of the last three seasons. Also winning for UH was pole vaulter Rhian Clarke, who set a meet record with a mark of 12 feet, two inches, and Jenny Adams, who won the long jump at 21 feet, 3.50 inches.

Also earning individual event titles was Louisville's Trish Young in the javelin (158-3), DePaul's Montina Gardner in the discus (151-4) and Tulane's Hanne Lyngstad in the 3,000 meters (9:35.79).

The 2000 Conference USA Track and Field Championships run through Saturday, May 13. The event is held at Tad Gormley Stadium and hosted by Tulane University.